Sheriff says KKK costume a stupid mistake

Cherokee County Sheriff Roger Garrison said he has no affiliation with the Ku Klux Klan, despite old photos that surfaced showing him wearing a robe and hood.

He wore the costume to a Halloween party around 25 years ago, long before he took office.

“I don’t deny it wasn’t stupid, looking back now, but there again I say what 21- or 22-year-old in this world hasn’t made some stupid mistakes?” Garrison told Channel 2 investigative reporter Jodie Fleischer, who obtained the photos from a source who wished to remain anonymous.

Garrison is up for re-election this year, and is facing primary opposition next month.

“It’s purely political,” he said, “This is just the lowest of the low to infer whatever they’re attempting to infer there.”

Garrison said he and a friend were dressed as characters from a scene in the movie “Blazing Saddles” and that he has never espoused any of the KKK’s beliefs.

“I don’t think anyone who knows me is going to think anything of this, but it’s just sickening and it hurts my family,” said Garrison.

Reproduced via – http://www.wsbtv.com/news/news/local/sheriff-says-kkk-costume-stupid-mistake/nPcqp/

Comments
2 Responses to “Sheriff says KKK costume a stupid mistake”
  1. tommetzger says:

    Anything that pisses me off more is someone who doesnt say screw this I will do what I choose. . This HOLLOWEEN i am going as Madonna. So what ?Politically correct speech on any side is bullshit!

    • LiverAF2012 says:

      I do not recall the last time a group of people dressed as Madonna lynched black people???

